NERM2022 Awards Dinner

This is a very special Awards Dinner with guests coming throughout the Northeast Region to be part of NERM2022.  Northeast Regional Award Winners will be recognized. Our guest speaker will be Dr. Angela K. Wilson, current President of ACS. Dr. Wilson will present

Future of the Chemical Sciences and ACS During the Transformative Age of Chemistry: Our Most Valuable Commodity – People

Throughout history, periods of time have been marked by human progress – the Iron Age, the Bronze Age, the Industrial Age, and, in more modern times, the Information Age.   For chemistry,  several periods have been referred to as the “Golden Age” – the golden age of alchemy (~1300-1700),  the Golden Age of Science and Technology (~780-1248 CE),  the Golden Age of Science (~1950’s), Gold Age of Chemistry (~1920’s-1960’s), and numerous references to the Golden Age of Chemistry.  Looking into the next decades,  we are ushering in a new age – the Transformative Age of Chemistry –with vital global challenges that must be addressed worldwide.  Challenges such as the growing need for food, water, and energy; increasing scarcity of vital elements;  melting of the polar ice caps;  addressing sustainable processes and products;  and so many more,  call for chemical solutions.  These solutions must be driven by a strong, vibrant, and diverse workforce.   A look at our workforce, what ACS is doing, and what we can each be doing to ensure a strong future chemical enterprise will be overviewed. 

Evening Events

  • Cash bar starting at 6:00 pm
  • Sit-down dinner
  • Introductions
  • Northeast Regional Award Winners
  • Recognition of all Rochester Section Members getting Awards
  • Evening presentation by Dr. Angela K. Wilson

ACS Division of Chemical Education Regional Award for Excellence in High School Teaching

  • Mr. Christopher M. Sgro (Chemistry Teacher, Highland Central School District) from Mid-Hudson Section of ACS

50-Year membership in American Chemical Society

  • Dr. Linda Anthony, Retired (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey)
  • Dr. Robert Murray, Retired (Serono Research Institute)
  • Dr. Benjamin Wallace Jr, Retired (Eastman Kodak Company)

60-Year membership in American Chemical Society

  • Dr. James V. Griepenburg, Retired (Chemmet Services, his company)
  • Dr. Harry J. Price, Retired (Eastman Kodak Company)
  • Dr. David M. Sturmer, Retired (Eastman Kodak Company
  • Dr. Paul L. Valint Jr, Retired (Bausch + Lomb)

70-Year membership in American Chemical Society

  • Dr. J. Raymond Hensler, Retired (Bausch + Lomb)

Award Winners from The Rochester Section of American Chemical Society

  • Rochester Section Volunteerism Award, Dr. Sarina Bellows (ThermoFisher Scientific)
  • Rochester Section High School Chemistry Teacher of the Year, Elizabeth Burns ( Faiirport Central School District)
  • Rochester Section Special Recognition Award, Dr Alexey Ignatchenko (St. John Fisher University)
  • Rochester Section Special Recognition Award, Mary Jo Valenti (St. John Fisher University)
  • Rochester Section Special Recognition Award, Melissa D.Koch (she/her/hers), PhD Candidate, University of Rochester
  • Rochester Section Entrepreneur of the Year, Mr. Arunas Chesonis (SweetWater Energy)

Ticket Price is $42.00
Sign up early—space is limited
Reservations close on September 25 at 11:30 pm

Register at

Please select your ticket based on your dinner choice
For information or questions, contact Maryann Mendel at

Sponsored by the Advanced Materials and
Chemicals Division of the Eastman Kodak Company

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s